Big questions

Big ideas

Big change

A unique opportunity for iFHP members to learn from each other’s experiences looking at what is happening, evolving and disrupting within healthcare insurance globally.

With speakers from Kaiser Permanente (USA), Daman National Health Insurance Company (UAE) and Police Health (Australia), Southern Cross (New Zealand) and CSS (Switzerland) amongst the many people sharing it will be a truly diverse cross section through the changes and ideas around the world.

We will be hosting sessions over the course of the week looking deeper into:

  • THE DIGITAL CUSTOMER – new channels, experiences and expectations
  • SMART INSURANCE – connection, personalisation and automation
  • FUTURE THERAPIES – new treatments to improve health outcomes
  • TOMORROW’S BUSINESS – the future shape of the business in the provision of insurance

Each day will focus on one of the discussion areas, but with three distinct sessions enabling members to present, listen and also challenge.

uu
The BIG Question sessions

What are the biggest questions we need to consider?

Each day a panel of members will discuss what they see as the crucial questions around the day’s allocated theme. Each panel will be moderated by an industry expert in this field.

The BIG Ideas sessions

Each BIG ideas session will feature two or three members illustrating their big idea to others. It could be something conceptual, or a project, product or strategy that is proposed to make a change within the business.

It will allow other members to view innovative insights not yet out in the market.

ww
The BIG Change sessions

These sessions will show the impact a big idea has made to the business. One member will take you on a journey from concept through implementation to review of the one BIG change that they are able to share. It could be something seemingly small but has made a substantial change in thinking or outcomes. But whatever it is this is proven as a BIG change.

head-icon

MONDAY 24 May

THE DIGITAL CUSTOMER

new channels, experiences and expectations

ww
BIG change

How I learned that digital is not about digital, and how to create a digital customer experience

Time: 08.00 UK /09.00 CET/17.00 AEST/19.00 NZST

Speakers: Medibank, Australia

Learn more...

Join digital leader Andy Hitchen to hear lessons from his time at Medibank and at previous role at Telstra communications about what went right and what could have gone better.

Andy Hitchen
Manager, Customer Channels
Medibank

ww
BIG CHANGE

Unlocking Value from Digital Health – AXA & Microsoft

Time: 08.00 PCT/11.00 EST/16:00 UK/17.00 CET

Speakers: AXA Group, France

Learn more...

AXA is collaborating with Microsoft to build a digital healthcare platform, enabling a virtual healthcare system that is open to all – not only members. Now active in Italy and Germany this is an exciting story of collaboration and innovation.

Somesh Chandra
Chief Health Officer – European Markets
AXA Group

phone-icon copy

Tuesday 25 May

SMART INSURANCE

connection, personalisation and automation

uu
big question

AI versus the Human. How do we manage the ethics of a black-box world?

Time: 08.00 UK /09.00 CET/17.00 AEST/19.00 NZST

Speakers: AXA Group, London Business School, BUPA UK, University of West London

Learn more...

Artificial Intelligence is one of the most hyped technologies to emerge in the last decade. Yet it might just be on the cusp of delivering on its promise as insurers and health providers shackle it to their business models to drive quicker, better decisions where they really count – at the sharp end of the customer experience. But where do we draw the line between humans and the machine? And what are the ethics that we need to keep in mind?

Speakers:

• Marcin Detyniecki, AXA Group Chief Data Scientists and Head of R&D

• Prof Dominic Holder, London Business School

• Prof Harry Korine, London Business School

• Dr Luke James, BUPA UK, Medical Director

• Dr Peter Stiernstedt, University of West London

BIG IDEA

The CSS Health Eco-system platform – a connected digital journey that wraps around the customer

Time: 12.00 UK/13.00 CET

Speakers: CSS Versioning, Switzerland

Learn more...

Many health plans are on the journey, but CSS have done it. Hear how all parts of the patient journey have been joined in this true end-to-end experience.

Peter Mittemeyer
Head of Strategy and Corporate Services
CSS Versioning, Switzerland

ww
BIG CHANGE

AI vs NW in combatting fraud (Native Wit – the intelligence or common sense we are born with)

Time: 08.00 PCT/11.00 EST/16:00 UK/17.00 CET

Speakers: Kirontech, UK

Learn more...

Kirontech will explore how AI can be used best in healthcare insurance fraud and how this ideally is combined for optimum results with our native intelligence and not solely machine learning.

Omar Chebli,  Co-Founder Kirontech UK Ltd
& Dr Simon Peck

ww
BIG CHANGE

The ‘Virtual-First’ Plan – prioritising virtual healthcare

Time: 15:30 PCT/18.30 EST/08.30 AEST (+1 day)/10.30 NZST (+1 day)

Speakers: Kaiser Permanente, USA

Learn more...

Kaiser Permanente have launched a new “virtual-first” healthcare plan in Washington state.

The plan, live since January 2021, is offered direct to employer groups and consumers, and will centre telehealth as a foundational modality of care for patients with nonurgent issues.

Susan Mullaney, Regional President of Kaiser Foundation Health Plan of Washington.

drug-icon

wednesday 26 May

future therapies

new treatments to improve health outcomes

uu
big question

How high can you go? Will the cost of healthcare keep rising forever?

Time: 08.00 PCT/11.00 EST/16:00 UK/17.00 CET

Speakers: Pharmacy Services at Independent Health, Pharmacy Services at Pacific Blue Cross, UPMC

Learn more...

A 2020 study estimates the average cost of bringing a new drug to market at US$1.3bn. Good news: that’s half the traditionally assumed amount, but it’s still huge. And with tomorrow’s therapies becoming ever more tailored to the patient, there’s little to say it’s going to get any cheaper. With drugs being only one part of the equation, are we always going to face the rising cost of healthcare, or is there an alternate future ahead?

Speakers:

• Martin Burruano. Vice President , Pharmacy Services at Independent Health

• Anar Dossa, Director of Pharmacy Services at Pacific Blue Cross

• UPMC

BIG IDEA

Successfully blending digital and traditional patient pathways

Time: 12.00 UK/13.00 CET

Speakers: Zilveren Kruis, The Netherlands

Learn more...

How will a blended approach work within a business model?  Innovation leaders Zilveren Kruis will share their views in this emerging area.

Jeroen Kemperman
Head of Strategy & Innovation
Zilveren Kruis

ww
BIG CHANGE

Remote care in cardio care and dermatology

Time: 07.00 PCT/10.00 EST/15.00 UK /16.00 CET

Speakers: BUPA, UK

Learn more...

How Bupa UK Insurance is looking to change patient experience and choice in the post covid world with a consideration of the potential wider societal impact and benefit.

Dr Luke James,
Medical Director for Bupa Global and UK Insurance

ww
BIG CHANGE

Nimble response and decision making – unlocking agility at Kaiser Permanente

Time: 16.00 PCT/09.00 AEST (+1 day)/11.00 NZST (+1 day)

Speakers: Kaiser Permanente, USA

Learn more...

During this session we will explore how the teams have been able to act and respond with increased agility due to improvements in their digital infrastructure.

Vivian Tan
Vice President – Strategic Information Management & Global Relationships · ‎Kaiser Permanente

face-icon

thursday 27 May

TOMORROW’S BUSINESS

the future shape of the business in the provision of insurance

uu
big question

With huge numbers of us still based at home, does the new way of working, work?

Time: 08.00 UK /09.00 CET/17.00 AEST/19.00 NZST

Speakers: Southern Cross, Police Health, HCF

Learn more...

What will the workforce of the future look like? If today’s WFH/WFO culture is truly here to stay, can it get the best from your people? Innovation is one reported casualty of the empty office, as is the opportunity to learn from more experienced colleagues. We may now know more about our colleagues’ kids/cats/cushions than we ever wanted to, but can we strike a balance between ditching the commute and keeping culture healthy?

Speakers:

• Vicki Caisley, Chief People & Strategy Officer, Southern Cross Health Society

• Scott Williams, CEO, Police Health

• Linda Opie, Head of Health & Wellbeing, HCF

uu
BIG question

They’re bigger, stronger and better equipped. How do we beat the new disruptors?

Time: 12.00 UK/13.00 CET/15.00 GST

Speakers: Daman, Eurapco,  AXA Group

Learn more...

The private health insurance industry has long been slated for disruption, most likely from non-market participants. Haven is no more, but brands such as Amazon, Walmart and Apple are sharpening their knives. Even Disney is moving into improving patient experience in American hospitals. How do we keep one step ahead of the interlopers, particularly given the strength of their brands and the masses of data they already hold on our customers?

Speakers:

• Frederik Bijsberg, Head of Innovation – National Health Insurance Company : Daman

• Frederik Fernhout, Head of Business Development- Eurapco

• Somesh Chandra, Chief Health Officer – European Markets – AXA Group

1611234102044
Chris Watney
CEO, iFHP

At iFHP we exist for the benefit of our members and our programme has been created and suggested by our members. The BIG ideas week will be the first fully digital event running over four days to allow our members to debate, share and learn from each other. We will be looking at four critical areas for innovation and how the future might look for us all. Each day allows you to select the topics most interesting and relevant for you and curate your own programme. It should inspire and challenge your thinking!

Join us for exclusive content and access to our growing network
Join us for exclusive content and access to our growing network